“Take a deep breath and get to it!”

Harry PotterA random sentence, interpreted so it becomes a little story: A really creative idea, this Daily Post Prompt Connect the Dots – I decided to participate spontaneously. So I grabbed the next book that was at hand and it waaaas…..”Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone” – in Spanish! Oh well. I felt the  temptation to cheat and pick another book. A profound book. Like “Pride and Prejudice”, maybe. Or “Romeo and Juliet”. Surely they would make this easy because every sentence would be quite philosophical. But to cheat is not my way and besides, this offers me an opportunity to tell you a little story of my life. After all, Harry Potter and I have a long and deep relationship… 😉

Until today, I read this first book of the Harry Potter series maybe…six times? At least. And in three languages. It became a kind of tradition to me. Let me explain:

When the first book was published in England, I was six years old. My parents started reading Harry Potter aloud to me and my brother maybe two years later. As soon as I was able to read on my own, I read them over and over again. I was a reading maniac when I was a kid. It feels safe to say I learned reading in my own language, German, with Harry Potter.

Then a second language was introduced to me: English. I did a student exchange to London and bought “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone” in English as a souvenir. It was the first book ever I read in English. The first of many to come. Harry Potter was my kickoff for learning English properly.

And because this worked so well – now I’m finally getting to the point, thank’s for your patience! – I bought “Harry Potter y la piedra filosofal” to improve my Spanish, which I am currently learning at University. The long and the short of it: It is a wonderful coincidence that I have to choose a sentence out of this book now! 🙂

At this point I have to cheat a little. I don’t pick the third sentence on page 82, because it doesn’t make sense. It’s something like – Hm, okay”, Harry said. This is a little too much of a challenge for me! I picked this little paragraph instead:

“Pero no llegó. Siguió rodando. Abrió los ojos.”

Translation (hopefully no Spanish speakers here):

“But it never came. He kept on rolling. He opened his eyes.”

It’s the scene when Harry has to pass through the “gate” to platform 9 3/4 to get to the Hogwarts train. He does know – KNOW with his common sense – that he’s going to crash into a solid wall. But he keeps on running. He takes a deep breath and gets to it. He doesn’t believe. He’s deeply sceptical. But he keeps on running.

A metaphor for my own life at the moment. I am about to finish University. I don’t know where I’m going, what my future will be. I had more than one moment during the past months – with this new phase of life feeling like a time bomb – when I didn’t believe in myself. I guess I have to do it like Harry Potter: Just close my eyes and keep on running toward my aim, although this door might be closed and I might rebound like from a solid wall.

 

Your thoughts:

