The rabbit-hole

Caving under BudapestI recently needed some adventure and tourist activities, so I went on a caving tour in Buda. It was close to masochism, but such a great and unforgettable experience that I’d like to write about it. We were a group of thirteen people, a colorful mix of nationalities. When I pulled on the outworn caving overall, my hands already felt dusty. We entered the cave through a little metal door in a hill that didn’t look spectacular at all, more like a storage room. Behind there was a low tunnel and then we were in the cave. Reddish, chalky rock and clay. Walking upright from that moment on was impossible.

At first I didn’t think about it, but when the first very narrow part came, where we had to squeeze through a passage of less than half a meter or so, I suddenly realized I was buried in a little hole, with tons of rock above me. The guide for some reasons chose me to be right behind him. He jumped head-first into these tiny holes like others dive into a nice warm swimming pool. I followed him much less elegantly on my belly. And then I felt stuck. My breath had already sped up because I wasn’t exactly fit, but now I was really panting. I didn’t know how to move forward, the passage was leading upwards and there was nothing to hold on to pull myself out or to step my foot on for pushing. But somehow I managed to swipe away my little trace of claustrophobia and wiggle myself out of the hole.

It was quite cold in the cave but underneath my overall I was sweating. It was exhausting. Have you ever crawled and climbed for two and a half hour? My knees and elbows hurt like hell. There were also impressive and almost spiritual moments however. In a very big room we all shut down our headlights. Complete darkness. And then we were silent. I never experienced something like that and now I know what the term “deafening silence” means. There are no words to describe the feeling when you hear NOTHING at all.

In the end, my muscles were shivering; the adrenaline left me really tired but so proud of myself. I admit I was glad to get out of the cave again. In general I love wide areas, where there is space and air, like on the sea. I’d rather be a bird than an ant. Crawling through earth holes is not exactly something that makes my spirits fly. But it was an experiment that was definitely worth a few bruises!

If you want to check this out, you find information here.

Your thoughts:

